PSA: Allergies suck

This will be short.  No witty banter.  No awesome uplifting sayings or phrases.  I want you guys to learn something from me today.

If you have bad allergies, don’t just stock an epipen.  Also keep Benadryl, eye drops, an inhaler if applicable, first aid ointment for hives, and one of those instant ice packs.  Keep those in your purse or your bag or whatever.  Keep extras in your desk drawers or your locker at work, or at the nurse’s office if you go to school.  Or all 3, I don’t know what you do.  Have a written list of all your allergies and the reactions with your extras.  Make sure you wear a handy dandy allergy necklace or bracelet.  Always make sure all your stuff is okay to use and not expired.  If you’ve had to use something, replace it right away.

And for the love of all that is holy, please do not wear excessive amounts of perfume in public places.  Normally, a little perfume on your person is fine, whatever makes you feel good.  But dowsing yourself in it is terrible and just not very considerate.

Right now, my face is so swollen, I can barely open my eyes.  I’m itchy, uncomfortable, and debating whether or not I should go to the doctor because I’m not really having any anaphylactic symptoms but holy shit, I just want a shot of some anti-histamine to make these hives or whatever go away.  I’m just not happy.

Someone at my therapist’s office, I don’t know who, wore something very perfumey.  It was all around the building, all 3 floors.  I honestly don’t even know how that’s possible.  I had to use my inhaler 3 times because it was fucking with my asthma.  I have an epipen because I’m allergic to nuts and that’s an anaphylactic reaction.  I did not, however, have any little pink Benadryl tablets.  I forgot to refill my emergency supply the last time I had to use them.  That’s on me.  I take full responsibility for that idiocy.  I hardly give my emergency supply a thought because I take a daily anti-histamine and I take all the necessary precautions, normally.  I should have worn a mask because of the pollen.  I should have just worn my glasses instead of fussing with contacts.  There’s a lot of this that’s on me.

But for fuck’s sake, it’s just not okay to endanger other people just so you can ‘smell pretty’.  I know most people don’t even consider that possibility, but jeepers.  Doctor’s offices almost all have warnings saying that perfumes shouldn’t be worn because it messes with people’s allergies.  To me, it’s common sense.

I know it wasn’t a direct attack on my person.  That’d be paranoia and I’m not about that.  But I hate people asking me if I’m okay because I’m spazzing more than usual and I hate using an entire pocket pack of tissues and still needing to use more because my nose won’t stop running and forcing my eyes to stay open because my face is swollen.  I’m Japanese.  It’s hard enough for me to get my eyes wide enough for people to stop asking me if I’m tired or something.  And yes, I do spaz/stim when my allergies are bad like this.  It’s upsetting and I don’t like the way it makes my face feel.

Anyway, I could go on and on.  My main point, besides complaining about my allergies, is that you should have an emergency stash of supplies on you at all times.  So you don’t have to suffer 4+ hours without Benadryl in a very toxic environment.

I’m going to go ice my face again.

-The Sarcastic Autist

Leave a Reply

