Brief Update

Good day, folks.  I’m afraid it’s going to be a short post today.  I gave Neko-chan a bath and now she’s upset.  I’m not feeling the greatest, either.  We had a new person in group today, so I acted really ridiculous because I hate meeting new people and we’re getting another new person next week.

The worst part is, I have to come up with a whole new fun fact about myself.  Everyone already knows I study Japanese and now they know I’m an owl.  People keep calling me wise, so apparently I’m a ducking owl.  (Sorry for the fowl language.  And now I’m laughing).

I’m not that interesting.  I can’t think of anything.  It took me all week to think of the wise thing!  Freaking stupid.

In other news, in the actual news, there was a mother who killed her blind and Autistic son.  According to what I’ve read, she was an addict and was high and ended up killing him by dehydration or something.  Honestly, I couldn’t read much about it because it made me so upset.  I’m still upset.

I understand that taking care of disabled kids is hard.  It’s really hard when they become adults because there aren’t as many resources as there is when they are younger. I know there are a lot of resources I wish I could have now that I had when I was in school.  I’m ‘higher functioning’, so I guess I don’t have much place to say much.  I’m just really sad.

Rest in Peace Austin.  Hope your next life is better.

-The Sarcastic Autist

3 thoughts on “Brief Update

  1. Personally I think it’s a crime that the resources and supports just disappear the moment the person turns 18 – like suddenly they are cured or something. NOPE. That diagnosis is STILL there. Those needs are still there. It all didn’t disappear just because the person suddenly turned 18. 😦 None of us would be here if that was the case.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know there’s some resources for people that have Down’s Syndrome and lower functioning Autism and stuff, but when it comes to stuff like anxiety and depression, or higher functioning Autism/Asperger’s and Bipolar/Manic Depressive, there’s not a whole lot. It’s frustrating.

      Liked by 1 person

      • In some states in the US the resources are non-existant for those 18+ and in others those resources are available if you know who to talk to. I happen to live in the second category. Knowing who to talk to and what forms to fill out… it’s a red tape nightmare. And each time it feels like you have to pretty much “dance like a monkey” to prove you need those resources. I really hope it’s not like this for all disorders, but so far it’s like this even while fighting for what my kids need and they are under 18 still. It just goes to show just how tight the resources are. It really does need to go to the ones in greatest need. It just sucks when you aren’t the ones that make the grade.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

